Australian Embassy
Cabo Verde, Sao Tome and Principe, Guinea Bissau

Visas to Portugal

 Information on visas for Australian citizens travelling to Portugal

Australian diplomatic missions cannot provide you with information on tourist, working or residence visas.

Information on visas or other travel authorisations required to visit Portugal or other countries should be obtained in Australia and well in advance of travel from the relevant diplomatic mission of the countries that you wish to visit.


Visa requirements for Portugal

Under the Schengen Convention, Australian citizens intending to travel to any Schengen country*, for a holiday or business, are authorised to stay in the Schengen zone for a maximum total of 90 days, without a visa, during any six month period.

After spending 90 days in the Schengen countries, travellers are required to remain out of the Schengen area for a period of at least 180 days before they can re-enter.

* Countries part of the Schengen Convention: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovak Republic, Sweden, Switzerland and Spain)

Please note: Albania, Belarus, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Ireland, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Ukraine and United Kingdom are not part of the Schengen area. Australians should consult the nearest High Commission, Embassy or Consulate of these countries for visa information.


 If you are in Portugal and wish to extend your stay in the Schengen zone beyond the maximum 90 days, you will need to directly establish contact with SEF (Servico de Estrangeiros e Fronteiras) in order to obtain current information on your eligibility to extend your stay in Portugal.

All requests for Portuguese visas and renewals must be made by calling either of the following numbers and arrange for an appointment:


Toll Free No: 808 202 653 - for landlines

Toll Free No: 808 962 690 - for mobiles


Persons can also enquire directly at:

Servico de Estrangeiros e Fronteiras (SEF)
Av. Antonio Augusto de Aguiar, 20
1069-119 LISBON

Tel: +351 213 585 500
Fax: +351 213 144 053
Office Hours: Monday to Friday from 8h30-16h30 (Lisbon time)
E-Mail: [email protected]